Clicky

Does Shake Shack Have Gluten-Free Buns? Answered (2022)

Last Updated on July 21, 2022 by Lauren Beck

The Shake Shack burger chain has been expanding into different locations worldwide. Famous for their Shack Burger, frozen custard, seasonal shakes, strawberry purée, and delicious shack sauce, their burgers are mainly popular. 

Being so well-known in the food industry, many people wonder – does Shake Shack have gluten-free buns? Let’s find out. 

Does Shake Shack Offer Gluten-Free Buns? 

Yes, they serve gluten-free buns. While their main draw is their great burgers, they recently introduced a new variety of limited-time items, aside from their burger. 

Those who can’t have gluten opt for fries as their safe bet. However, at Shake Shack, it can be cross-contaminated. 

So, what are your other options? We recommend the gluten-free bun option at Shake Shack. 

Besides gluten, they make their buns without milk, soy, sesame, and peanuts, which are the common cause of allergies. 

What Do Customers Have To Say?

On their website, Shake Shack has received four stars out of five. One of their customers said they had not experienced any issues after dining at the establishment twice. 

However, they noted that the chain’s signature Fries are not safe due to their shared filtration system.

Despite some positive reviews about the gluten-free bread at Shake Shack, some noted that it shouldn’t be used for anyone with celiac disease. 

One also stated that the bun was touching another item in the same bag, and the employee who ordered it referred to cross-contamination as inevitable. 

Although the customer did not have Celiac, she noted that the chain did not have an option on its Shake Shack app for allowing the use of wheat-free bread.

Is It Healthy?

grilled meat burger with vegetables

Yes, gluten-free burgers are healthy, especially for those who avoid gluten. However, we do not recommend it for people with Celiac. Cross-contact while preparing your order is almost impossible, so better be safe than sorry. 

If you have a severe celiac issue, you should double-check or might as well avoid eating burgers at Shake Shack even if it claims to be gluten-free.

Does Shake Shack Have Other Gluten-Free Items? 

Yes, there are other Shake Shack gluten-free menu items at Shake Shack. Aside from the gluten-free buns, you can also enjoy their burger patty, cheeseburger, hotdogs, shakes, chocolate, chocolate sprinkles, fudge, chocolate toffee, and frozen custard. 

All other menu items contain wheat, like their french fries, filtered using the same equipment used in their Shroom Burgers. 

When it comes to sauces, unfortunately, Shake Shack doesn’t list all of their sauces on their allergy page. 

We recommend asking about their other condiments and dressings, such as mayo, whipped cream, caramel, marshmallow, chocolate, and other toppings, directly at the store, along with other information. 

FAQs 

Are Shake Shack’s gluten-free buns good for people with Celiac disease?

No, we do not recommend Shake Shack’s gluten-free buns to people with Celiac illness. They serve everything using one wrap, so gluten-free buns might touch other items, which can cause the transfer of gluten components. 

Is Shake Shack’s gluten-free bun vegan?

Yes, it is an excellent alternative to the non-vegan Martin’s Potato bread. You can ask for a lettuce wrap or gluten-free bread. 

Key Takeaways 

Shake Shack ensures its customer’s safety by introducing its gluten-free menu [1] in 2016. Now, they are serving buns and other food items that do not have gluten or wheat. You can request to replace the original bun with a gluten-free one, depending on your choice. 

So, those on a gluten-free diet can now eat a variety of food at Shake Shack– from chocolate sprinkles, burgers, strawberries, and many more in almost all store locations! 

Reference:

  1. https://wtop.com/food-restaurant/2016/12/shake-shack-introduces-gluten-free-buns/
Lauren Beck

Leave a Comment